Type to search

Zim takes on Nepal as World Cup qualifiers kick off

Latest Sports

Zim takes on Nepal as World Cup qualifiers kick off


Fungayi Munyoro-Chingaira

HARARE- Zimbabwe goes into battle this Sunday with Nepal in the opening match of the ICC Men’s World Cup Qualifier 2023 at Harare Sports Club.
The hosts, Zimbabwe is looking forward to secure one of the two remaining spots at the ICC Men’s World Cup.
The 10 teams taking part in the tournament are split into two groups.
Zimbabwe is in Group A together with West Indies, Netherlands, Nepal and the United States of America (USA).
Group B is made up of Sri Lanka, Ireland, Scotland, Oman and the United Arab Emirates.
After Sunday’s clash, Zimbabwe will take on Netherlands at the same venue on Tuesday.
The games which are slated for June 18- July 9 are going to be played across four venues in Harare and Bulawayo .
The World Cup will be played in India later this year.
Captained by Craig Ervine, Zimbabwe have rolled out their big guns in Sikandar Raza, Sean Williams and Tendai Chatara for the 10-team qualifying contest.
Zimbabwe will be counting on the pace duo of Blessing Muzarabani and Richard Ngarava too, with all-rounders Ryan Burl and Wessly Madhevere bolstering the team.

Spinner Wellington Masakadza, wicketkeeper-batter Clive Madande and opening batter Innocent Kaia will also be looking to play influential roles in the campaign.

Mega Market Mountaneers’ wicketkeeper-batter Joylord Gumbie is delighted to be part of the 15-man member squad that was announced for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2023
Gumbie who has been enjoying a purple patch in the run-up to the tournament, is the only uncapped player named in the final 15-man side.

“I’m happy to be part of the team. It was not an easy journey for me I thank God for that and I’m happy.
It is a dream come true. Hard work and prayer has been my secret,” said the 27-year old star.

Harare Sports Club will again host West Indies on June 24 and this is the biggest fixture of them all.

Zimbabwe’s last group fixture will be on June 26 at the same venue against USA.

Zimbabwe Cricket (ZC) Media and Communication manager Darlington Majonga said
The top three from each group will progress to the Super Six stage.

“ The top three from each group will progress to the Super Six stage where each team will play three matches against the sides they did not meet in the group stage. All points won in the groups will be carried over to the Super Six stage, apart from those gained against the bottom two from each group.The finalists will both progress to the Cricket World Cup.

“The ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier is the culmination of four years of hard-fought competition and brings together the bottom five teams from the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League, three automatic qualifiers from the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup League Two and two teams who gained entry from the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier Playoff,” he said.


Burl Ryan, Chatara Tendai, Ervine Craig, Evans Bradley, Gumbie Joylord, Jongwe Luke, Kaia Innocent, Madande Clive, Madhevere Wessly, Marumani Tadiwanashe, Masakadza Wellington, Muzarabani Blessing, Ngarava Richard, Raza Sikandar and Williams Sean.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Enjoy our stories? Please spread the word: