Type to search

Zanu PF applauds ‘peaceful, democratic youth elections’

Latest Politics

Zanu PF applauds ‘peaceful, democratic youth elections’


THE ruling Zanu PF party has applauded its youth wing for holding a peaceful and democratic elective national conference.

Addressing the media at the revolutionary party’s headquarters in Harare yesterday, Zanu PF national political commissar, Cde Dr Mike Bimha, said the newly elected executive led by Cde John Paradza is equally representative with four members from each province.

“The election was peaceful and more importantly very democratic.

“Also what we are happy about is that this time around the party has a national youth executive council comprising youths in the right age group, that is 35 years and below,” he said.

Cde Bimha said the youth conference was also gender sensitive with 12 women being in top leadership positions while three are in the top 10 of the national executive.

“Guidelines sent to the provinces by the youth league required that at least one of the four candidates should be female.

“All the 10 provinces have equal representation of four members in the new national executive council.

“As a result, out of the 40 candidates from the 10 provinces, at least 10 were female.

“Three female members made it into the top 10 of the national executive council,” he said.

Cde Bimha the first stage of the selection followed a circular issued to various administrative districts soliciting for those who wanted to be considered for positions in the national executive.

He said there were clear guidelines for those who wanted to be considered including age limit (35 years and below), without criminal records and paid up members of the party.

Cde Bimha said those who were willing had to apply and submit their curriculum vitaes.

He said the next stage was a vetting exercise that was conducted by the security department at the head office.

Harare province’s Cde Chiwetu Tendai is now the Secretary for Administration, while Cde Garikai Zonde was elected Secretary for Finance.

Cde Tsungai Makumbe from Mashonaland Central was elected Political Commissar, while Cde Valeria Makonza is the new Secretary for External Affairs.

The new Secretary for Security is Cde Thubelihle Ncube, while Cde Innocent Dube is the Secretary for Transport and Social Welfare.

Cde Phippa Mukono was elected Secretary for Information and Publicity with Cde Margaret Nyerere coming in as Secretary for Indigenisation and Economic Empowerment.

The new Secretary for Information, Communication and Technology is Cde Munashe Mututsa, while Cde Luckmore Gapa is the Secretary for Health and Child Care.

Cde Admire Ndlovu is the Secretary for Economic Affairs while the while Secretary for Gender is Cde Nalede Maunganidze.

Cde Future Mhlanga is the Secretary for Disabled; Cde Nomatter Topotsa, the Secretary for Lands, while Munashe Mabika was elected as the Secretary for Business Liaison.

Cde Batsirai Matiza is now the Secretary for Environment, while Cde Danmore Mambondiani is the deputy Secretary for Administration.

Cde Taurai Kandishaya was elected as the deputy Political Commissar. Herald.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Enjoy our stories? Please spread the word: