Morefire FC holds annual awards

NBSZ Masvingo Branch Chairperson Nkulumani Mlambo (in shirt) poses for a pic with Morefire
team players and executive members with the donated soccer kit


MASVINGO –National Blood Service Zimbabwe (NBSZ) Masvingo Branch chairperson and The Mirror editor,
Nkulumani Mlambo has donated a soccer kit and 15 soccer balls to Morefire FC. Mlambo made the donation on Saturday last week at Morefire FC 2019 annual awards held at an open space in Rhodene.

Club patron, Namibian based Dr Michael Simbi and Francis Masekesa also made a donation of 15 pairs of shooters and socks. Morefire FC is a Masvingo General Hospital employees’ social league team formed in 2000.

“The jersey has National Blood Service Zimbabwe (NBSZ) motto, ‘Donate blood Save Life’. We value your service to the community and we want you to donate blood and encourage others to do so. We also wantyou to lead a healthy life through sporting activities,”said Mlambo. The ceremony observed social distancing, sanitization and everyone wore a face mask. The awards were sponsored by Milton Sithole and everyone in attendance went home with a new T-shirt.

They also enjoyed a braai and shared memories of the team’s history spanning 20 years. Club chairman Andrew Sithole said Morefire FC has since introduced a netball and volleyball teams to keep health employees fit and spend time productively. “Our last kit had the motto, ‘have fun not AIDS’ because we want our health workers to remain vigilante and strong. We have also introduced volleyball and netball teams to increase the number of people taking
part in sporting activities,” said Sithole.

Morefire FC is headed by Philip Jana with Godwin Runatsa as vice chairman, Walter Kausevi as secretary
general, Gerald Maganyani as team manager and Hwaire for protocols and logistics.

Top Goal Scorer – Allan Kurauone
Most Consistent Player – Give Vurande
Most Loyal –Robson Mundawarira
Most Disciplined- Godwin Runatsa
Most Improved-Tatenda Tendesa
Players Player of the year- Ronald Chigweshe
Player of the year –Rollen Dzingirai
Man supporter of the year – Simbarashe Sinawako
Woman supporter of the year – Pwanyai Kesina
Chairman Award – Munyaradzi Mufuro
Sponsors player of the year Prince Masvimbo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Enjoy our stories? Please spread the word: