Type to search

Masvingo chiefs hold National Council elections

Latest Politics

Masvingo chiefs hold National Council elections


Ellen Mlambo

MASVINGO – Following the Presidential Proclamation, 34 substantive chiefs from the Masvingo Provincial Assembly yesterday held elections to choose five members who will sit in the National Chiefs’ Council.
The National Council of Chiefs elections are held every five years. 
The elected chiefs are Chief Fortune Zephania Charumbira, Chief Chitanga of Mwenezi, born Feleni Chauke, Chief Nhema of Zaka, born Ranganai Bwawanda, Chief Serima of Gutu, born Vengai Rushwaya and Chief Mazungunye of Bikita born Lazarus Mazungunye.
The Deputy Provincial Elections Officer for Masvingo, Maxwell Ncube, confirmed the elections results held at the Chiefs’ Hall in Mucheke.
On August 24, 2023, Masvingo Provincial Chiefs Assembly will sit again to elect two members who will sit in the Senate. However, unlike the elections for the Chiefs’ Council, it is only chiefs registered to vote who will participate in the former.
The National Chiefs Council will also sit on a date proclaimed by the President, to choose the president and deputy president of the Chiefs’ Council,” said Ncube.
Chief Charumbira was voted back into the National Chiefs Council despite being riddled with a social ill where he allegedly solicited sex from his daughter-in-law.
Yesterday’s election was conducted in five rounds. The first nominations pitted Chief Charumbira against Chief Neromwe and Serima. Charumbira won the first nomination getting 27 votes, Neromwe 7; and Serima surprisingly got a zero even though he was present in the meeting to vote.
The second round saw Provincial Chiefs Assembly Chairperson Chief Chitanga standing against Chief Nemauzhe, and the former got 28 votes and the latter six. 
Charumbira said he was humbled to be reelected.
“I am humbled by the confidence shown in me by fellow chiefs. That expression humbles me,” said Charumbira who was recently rocked by a sex scandal involving a close relative. 
In the third nomination, Chief Nhema got 24 votes against Ndanga’s ten votes for the third seat. 
On the fourth nomination, Chief Serima was nominated uncontested. 
In the fifth and final round, Chief Mazungunye got 22 votes against Chief Mugabe’s 11.  
Masvingo Provincial Elections Officer Pudurai Zex Zirabada presided over the elections. 

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Enjoy our stories? Please spread the word: