Kondongwe is Businessman of the Year


MASVINGO – Lanky businessman Sternly Kondongwe is undoubtedly Masvingo’s man of the moment after he clinched two coveted awards at the Megafest Annual Business Function held at the Great Zimbabwe Hotel on Friday night.

Kondongwe who runs Jadecon Engineering and Byword Motors which are into construction, transport and motor car services was crowned southern region’s Businessman of the year.

He went to the podium for the second time and his company collected the second prize in the Professional Services Category.
The runner-up in the Businessman of The Year is Masvingo Brick and Tile director Clifford Mumbengegwi.

Tongaat Hulett director, Owen Manasa was named the Director of the Year. His company emerged the best in corporate social responsibility and Tongaat CEO Eden Mhere was crowned Chief Executive of the Year.

Kudakwashe Taruberekera who is now a force to reckon with in the property industry with his Craft Properties Holdings is the joint Platinum Chief Executive of the Year with Gutu Rural District Council CEO Alexander Mutembwa.

Young businessman Tapiwa Magarezano of Family Pharmacy jointly scooped the Gold together with veteran economist and RBZ monetary Policy board member Persistence Gwanyanya who runs Bullion Group.

Reformed Church University finance officer Pikisai Mhizha was named Chief Financial Officer of the Year while Andias Chinyoka of Great Zimbabwe University was the runner up.

Rudo Munemo of Lulu Events was named the Entrepreneur of the Year with Jasper Simango of Great Zimbabwe Hotel being crowned Young Executive of the Year together with Kennedy Muwaniki of Takeltien (Pvt) Ltd.

Nyaradzo branch manager, Fortune Mawoyo was named Manager of the Year followed by Stephen Manyadze of Lodge at the Ancient City who came second. Simon Mukwavaira of Zimnat and Douglas Tekende of Soltain Finance are on position three.

Regular award winner, N Richards southern region director Andrew Chekani won the award for The Most Pro-development Leader.

The Manufacturer of the Year Award went to Masvingo Brick and Tile and the first and second runner-ups respectively are Takeltien Pvt Ltd and Stable Plastics.

The Excellency Award went to Lancet Laboratory and the first and second runner-ups respectively were Bullgas Fuels and Abby’s Classique Cakes owned by Abigail Rukwava.

Doves won the Professional Services category while Byword Motors and Kundi Press are tied on number two. Lees Inn and Music and Sound came third.

Masvingo 24 Hour Medical Centre won the Disruptive Organisation of the Year and Noah Marima of Junior Driving scooped Outstanding Business Personality of the Year.

The event was attended by Assistant Commissioner Felicitus Musvipe and Benjamin Mazarire as Guest of honour. https://masvingomirror.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Enjoy our stories? Please spread the word: