Type to search

JSC celebrates 13 years of existence


JSC celebrates 13 years of existence


Simbarashe Mtembo

MASVINGO-The Judicial Service Commission (JSC) is celebrating its thirteenth anniversary on Saturday.
The commission was established on June 10, 2010, in terms of Section 189 of the Constitution of Zimbabwe.
JSC head of corporate services, Daniel Nemukuyu, confirmed the anniversary to The Mirror.
The commemorations are being held under the theme; Enhancing justice delivery through improved overall employee.
In Masvingo, the commemorations will be held at Masvingo Magistrates Court.
“Judicial Service Commission will be celebrating the 13th anniversary on 10 June 2023, and this year’s celebrations will run under the theme …,” reads part of an invitation sent to The Mirror by Masvingo Provincial Magistrate Farai Gwitima.
Prior to the commission’s establishment, judicial officers directly fell under the Ministry of Justice, Legal and Parliamentary Affairs.
The commission was established to among issues promote judicial independence.
JSC currently has 68 judges in the superior courts, 39 judges at the High Court, 13 Supreme Court judges, seven Constitutional Court judges and nine Labour Court judges. There are 230 magistrates at 58 stations.
The late former Chief Justice Godfrey Guwa Chidyausiku is the first head of the commission. He retired in March 2017.
Justice Chidyausiku was replaced by the current Chief Justice, Luke Malaba.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Enjoy our stories? Please spread the word: